KHĀLSĀ DĪWĀN, afterwards renamed Central Mālvā Khālsā Pritīnidhī Dīwān, Nābhā, was formed on 1 January 1906 at a large conclave of the Sikhs held in the princely town. The inspiration came from Ṭikkā Ripudaman Siṅgh (1883-1943), heir apparent to the Nābhā throne, who was a staunch advocate of the Siṅgh Sabhā doctrine, and his tutor Bhāī Kāhn Siṅgh. A committee consisting of five members, Hazūrā Siṅgh, Nihāl Siṅgh, Bedī Hukam Siṅgh, Raghbīr Siṅgh and Mīhāṅ Siṅgh, was constituted the same day to administer the Dīwān. To help the committee, Soḍhī Hīrā Siṅgh was nominated secretary and Gurdiāl Siṅgh assistant secretary. Among the aims of the Dīwān were the propagation of the Sikh faith and the Sikh way of life and customs, spread of education among the Sikhs, uplift of women so as to bring them on equal footing with men, and better management of Sikh religious places. The Dīwān remained fairly active in its appointed sphere of work till 1911, but after that it gradually lapsed into oblivion owing mainly to the waning interest on the part of Ripudaman Siṅgh who became the Mahārājā of Nābhā after the death on 25 December 1911 of his father, Mahārājā Sir Hīrā Siṅgh.

Shamsher Siṅgh Ashok